Simone

<
>

Hello! My name is Simone.

I was born and raised in Sao Paulo, a big metropolitan city in Brazil. I moved to the U.S. 15 years ago for work, and settled in the Pacific Northwest, which I now consider my home and where I plan to stay. Although my family still lives in Brazil, I talk with them all the time and visit them every year to celebrate Christmas and the New Year. I am excited to share the Brazilian culture with my child, and to raise them speaking my two languages, Portuguese and English. My family and friends also look forward to welcoming my child and their birth family into our extended family.

Since I was very young, I’ve always loved children, and when asked what I wanted to be when I grew up, I would reply “a mom.” I loved babysitting, even though at the time it meant changing cloth diapers and being careful not to poke anyone with a diaper pin! I am proud of the drive and dedication I have brought to my career in technology, and I am now in a place to slow down and commit to raising a child. I hoped finding a partner would happen naturally, but it didn’t, however, I decided this shouldn’t prevent me from fulfilling my dream of becoming a mom. Adoption has been in the back of my mind since I was young, and as I’ve learned more, I’ve recognized that openness in adoption fosters a child’s identity and sense of belonging. I plan to walk alongside my child to offer them lots of love and support as they navigate their unique situation. I will encourage them to be curious about and express their emotions to become an emotionally healthy adult. I hope my child will have a connection to their birth family, and look forward to welcoming their birth family into my life as well.

I am more of an introvert, and appreciate quiet things like being at home, small gatherings, watching movies, road trips, listening to audio books, taking walks, and bicycling. I enjoy exploring State and National Parks, but I’m not a camper myself. I love traveling and spending time at the beach – I grew up going to the beach and I really miss the warm beaches in Brazil! I enjoy music and going to concerts. I’ve attended Pink, Coldplay, Taylor Swift, The Weeknd, Maroon 5, Adele, Ellie Goulding, Katy Perry, Elton John and others, and DWTS and Stars on Ice multiple times. I love photography and although I don’t spend as much time doing it nowadays, I always have a camera around. I look forward to taking lots of photos of my child! I love putting up the Christmas tree right after Thanksgiving and watching Hallmark Christmas movies. I can’t wait to include my child in life’s adventures, and create many new memories together.

When I welcome a child into my life, I will take several months off work to be able to bond and care for them, and plan to have home-based care during their first year. I strongly believe the most precious gift you can give your child is quality time and being fully present in the moment. I will encourage my child to find their own interests and passions and be their own person, while providing opportunities for them to grow up healthy both physically (exploring, outdoors, traveling) and emotionally (openness, nature, diversity, love). I have experience with anxiety, and have learned tools to navigate this, which has increased my empathy and ability to support my child through struggles they may encounter. I’ve built many long lasting relationships in my life (I met my oldest friend when I was 6, and she was 5), and all the ones that succeeded over time have been based on mutual respect, honesty, and a caring relationship. This is what I hope for in the relationship with my child’s birth family, and I look forward to embarking on this journey together!

Take care!
Simone

Watch Simone's Video

«

»