Sepideh and Adam


Hello! We’re Sepideh and Adam,

We’re excited to begin the journey of starting a family through open adoption!

We live in an almost 100-year-old house in Bellingham, Washington, in one of the most diverse parts of town. We love our neighborhood because it feels like a real community. People are always out and about and easy to talk with. We also love it because we can walk to the park, grocery store, trails, and friends’ houses.

Sepideh works full-time as an Optometrist. Adam owns an architecture firm with his brother and has a flexible schedule. In the evenings, we enjoy having people over for dinner or visiting Sepideh’s mom. The weekends are full of yard work, hiking, day trips, and volunteering. We volunteer with a program that helps middle schoolers see that they can contribute to positive change in our community. We actually met through this program more than 10 years ago!

We’ve been married since 2012 and have finally settled on a place to raise our family. We love that our children will have grandparents close by. Sepideh’s mom lives nearby and Adam’s parents live about four hours away on a property with a big garden and lots of forest trails. Our other family members live in North Carolina, Kansas, Iowa, California, New Mexico, Arizona, Canada, and Iran. We all keep in touch through phone calls, group chats, and visits.

Adam was born in Kansas and grew up in northern Arizona with his parents, older sister, and younger brothers who are twins. His family often worked together on one building project or another, even on vacation! He grew up to be a jack-of-all-trades, often lending his time and tools to friends and neighbors. He has a natural way with children. When we have friends with kids visiting, he’s the grown-up getting into a game of hide-and-seek, helping the kids climb a tree, or get their feet muddy at the beach. He’s easy to talk to, flexible, generous, and a little absent-minded.

Sepideh was born in Iran and moved to the U.S. with her family when she was eight years old. She grew up taking spontaneous road trips with her parents and little sister. Sepideh’s family moved almost every year until they found home in the Pacific Northwest. Her hobbies include watercolor painting, photography, hiking, thrifting, and doing DIY projects with Adam. She is considerate, calm, and reflective. And she’s quite terrible at telling jokes because she can’t wait to jump to the punchline!

It seems like everything we’ve done in our lives so far has been for our future children. Things like developing our personal qualities to try to be good role models, going to school and working to become financially stable, and building connections with a community that will care about their wellbeing. Now that we’ve laid that foundation, we’re excited to start a family!

Our hope for our relationship with our child’s birth parents is a close friendship with open communication and lots of understanding and compassion. We imagine sharing pictures, birthday parties, and regular visits to stay current in each other’s lives. We want nothing more than for our children to know that they’re loved by so many people.

Thank you for reading about us.
We wish you the best,
Adam and Sepideh